Holiday Spirit?!?!?!

I stepped out into the cool crisp fall air.  As I looked around, the ground was covered in tons of leaves varying in color.  As I drove along my normal daily route, I noticed every stores parking lot seemed to be full.  What is everyone up to I wonder?  Then I’m reminded the holidays are among us.  I guess it’s time to join in the holiday spirit. pexels-photo

One can only hope that while everyone is looking for a place to park or searching the shelves for just the right gifts, that their hearts are also filled with holiday cheer.  Part of me dares to enter the stores as I can just feel the crazy that sometimes becomes holiday shopping. But I just can’t shake the feeling that something is different this year.  Is it that it was just 75 degrees yesterday?  Could it be that I’m just tired from working over 45 hours a week?  Maybe it’s the fact that I ordered almost all of my gifts online this year.

Perhaps it’s that fact that pretty much everything my family wants, we are blessed to get through out the year.  What is blocking my holiday cheer?  A good dose of holiday music might get me going or maybe I just need to put up more decorations.  If I walk through the department store doors,  perhaps the spirit will just come over me.

Then it hits me,  my holiday spirit tank is already full!  Let’s be real, the holidays are about a lot of things for a lot of people.  For me it’s about the spirit of Peace, Love and Joy!!!  Each day we have to challenge ourselves to live this spirit in our day to day actions.  That’s the hard part living through our actions not just our thoughts and words.  red-love-heart-valentines

Now that I have gotten my life together as the kids would say….lol. About my day I will go living in action.  Let’s all challenge ourselves to find one way to live out our actions this holiday season.

Living in Action

  1. As you stop to grab your morning coffee or breakfast,  pick up the tab for the person behind you.  Or ask the cashier if your change can be applied to their tab.
  2. Let the person who is in a rush have the parking space.
  3. Mind your manners,  say please and thank you, perhaps even hold a door for the person behind you.
  4. Remember that everyone isn’t in the same mood as you and it isn’t  directed at you.
  5. If you want to help someone in need,  ask what they are truly in need of instead of providing what you think they need.

Last but not least don’t stop when the calendar flips over to 2017.  Trust me we all are going to need a lot more of the holiday spirit as we all tackle 2017.  Remember,  people won’t remember what you say or what you do but they will remember how you made them feel.

pexels-photo-136108

 

Leave a Reply

